M&P 22 Pistol Review

Here is an excellent little pistol that I purchased a little while ago to try out. The M&P 22 is a .22lr trainer for the full sized M&P line of pistols. I found it to be a great little pistol and had a lot of fun with it at the range. Unfortunately I traded it in when I started the AR build so that I could afford some parts. It is a pistol that I will definitely miss. It is however a very expensive pistol for a .22lr. At $380 it is priced up there with used centerfire pistols and new entry level pistols. That is one of the reasons this pistol went, and one reason why I probably won’t buy another. I just found that regardless of how similar it is to the M&P line, it is not an M&P (or a S&W for that matter, it is made by Walther), and it cannot replicate firing the real deal. The trigger, while passable for a striker fired trigger is truly just a long pull single action trigger. There are some definite positives to the gun though, and it will be up to you to finally decide if it’s one to add to your arsenal. Me personally, I’ll just buy the Walther P22 next go around for a little less money.   

  • POU (philosophy of use)
    • Range Gun
    • Realistic Training Simulation
  • Size, weight
    • Same Dimensions as Full Size M&P lineup
  • Accuracy
    • Very accurate
    • Trigger is a long pull single action
    • Not an M&P trigger
  • Ergonomics
    • Same great feel as M&P line
    • Full size slide (not cut down)
    • Slide is very lightweight
  • Field Strip
    • Simplistic, Rotate takedown lever and pull out
  • Accessories, Versatility
    • Threaded barrel uses Walther P22 1/2×28 thread adapter
    • Allows for easy suppressed use
    • Fits in M&P holsters
    • Very hard to find magazines and only comes with one
  • Value
    • This is a lot to spend on a 22
    • If looking for a striker fired training tool this is it
  • Durability and reliability
    • Ran good
    • Likes round nose ammo
  • Track Record
    • Made by Walther

I am trying out a new system for detailing out my reviews. It’s based off of the Nutnfancy project talking points… gotta give credit where credit is due. 

Image

 

-WSCBS

Leave a comment