AR-15 Build Part 2

I was finally able to secure a lower parts kit for my build. I was able to easily install it, and my rifle actually looks like a rifle.

Image

 

I am going to use this post to show my findings on the installation of a lower parts kit onto a stripped lower receiver. Let me start by saying that if you have a reasonable amount of mechanical know-how, i.e. you can you a screwdriver, hammer and punch, you should have no problem installing a kit. 

There are plenty of tutorials on how to identify all of the parts and how they go together into the lower, therefore I will not waste time in this post telling you this information. I highly suggest going over to the ar-15.com forum and taking a look through their tutorials and information. It is an incredible source of information on this amazing weapon system. 

Parts

For this build I used a DPMS LPK. I was able to pick a kit up at a local gun store for right around $67. I chose to go with this kit solely for the fact that it was available at a price that was not ridiculous in these times. The quality of this kit is on par with what I expected it to be. All of the parts fit into place with little effort. The only slight issue that I experienced with the kit was with the trigger guard. It took some effort for it to fit into place between the ears of the lower. Would I use the kit again? Yes, although I have not been able to do extensive tests on the parts for long term reliability I feel that its a good kit. The trigger group feels nice for a GI type trigger. As the parts wear in with shooting I will surely give updates on how they hold up. 

Sights

For this build a decided on a Magpul MBUS rear sight due to their durability and design. I will be selecting both a metal front sight for the gas block as well as an optic at some point for this rifle. Of course I will be giving a more detailed account of how they work as I receive them and get a chance to use them. 

As I wait for the last two pieces of my build let me tell you that it is one hell of a wait. I placed an order for a bolt carrier group today and am in the process of trying to figure out which front sight I want to use. After I get those parts I will finally be able to go to the range and fire the first rounds through the rifle.

-WSCBS

 

Leave a comment